This explains a lot about me

Where do I get my sense of humor? It’s a little off the wall (if you haven’t notice), and that can’t just be biology. Well, I’ve figured it out (okay, I knew long ago). It’s my family! My family is hilarious. My parents’ sense of humor rubbed off on me, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Just another sample of our family strangeness, I’m going to post a conversation between my mother and I. My commentary is in red.

Background: I e-mailed her a fact I found out about someone we know.

Me: Did you know <insert random fact about someone I know>!?

Mom: Doo doo doo doo.
Doo doo doo doo.
Yes, she seriously sent this to me in an e-mail.

Me: OMG I just loled at work. Doo doo doo doo? How am I supposed to know what that is? Am I supposed to Google it? Because I did, and it came up with a Rolling Stones song.

Or it could just be that you meant to be a 3-year-old and say doo doo four times but forgot some punctuation.

Was it supposed to be along the lines of a doom-type song/jingle? Like bum bum bum?

Ha! How do you feel now? Bum bum bum? You don’t know what the hell I mean that (or do you). Payback, Danno. Payback. For background on the “Danno” thing, check out the last e-mail conversation I blogged: This is Why I Love my Family.

Mom:

M-

Is your bum bum bum an ominous musical warning? Or did you just watch three people walk away from you? (I embarrassed myself laughing out loud at work at this…oops!). I would say it’s the “Here Comes the Bride” song, but it’s missing a bum for that.

The doo doo doo doo with a repeat is from a classic TV show called Twighlight Zone. The show featured weird happenings.

Subordinately yours,
D

Please not it’s signed D, not MD. That’s cuz I’m still yo mamma, and as yo mamma, I do not accept subordinacy.

P.S. No. I’m not drinking. Well, just water.

She had to have been drinking. Yo mamma? Really, Mom?

Also, here’s a video of the Twilight Zone theme song.

Me: Are you saying the bride is missing her bum? Because if so, kudos to the man marrying her. That’s a big hump to get over. (Terrible attempt at a pun. I was at work and focused on other stuff. Leave me alone.)

And you aged yourself with the Twilight Zone comment (though you somewhat redeemed yourself by misspelling it. If you had actually watched it in the 1950s and 1960s, I’m sure you would have spelled it correctly). Perhaps you watched the first revival from 1985-1989. Or maybe even the second revival in 2002-2003. (I love Wikipedia.)

Megan

P.S. If you had put MD, I would have just asked you to look at this rash, not treated you subordinately. I didn’t actually have a rash…just saying MD means doctor.

P.P.S. Don’t lie. You’re drinking. You’re a closet drinker and you’ve just been hiding it for 24 years. I’m on to you.

Mom:

M-

LOL on the bride missing her bum.

Yes, I showed my age and poor spelling with the Twilight Zone reference. I did watch the originals. I was just a little kid–how am I sposed to no how to spel it rite? I shuda looked it up on Google or Wiki first.

Speaking of spelling, woah or whoa? The subject of the e-mail was “Woah.”

P.S. Hope your rash is feeling better. I won’t ask where it is. Again, I didn’t have a rash. It was a joke.

P.P.S. I’ve been found out (hic) I assume the (hic) was a drunk hiccup.

Mom

Me:

Other M…or D…oh I don’t know anymore,

You definitely showed your age by admitting you watched the original since it only ran until 1964…new episodes anyway (thanks Wikipedia). And as you probably guessed, this conversation is getting blogged, so readers will be able to guess/approximate your age. If I was really mean, I’d hold a contest and tell people to comment age guesses in the comments…but I won’t. Because I’m nice like that.

As for your spelling, that’s on you.

And a vocabulary lesson (for both of us…and all the readers!):

Whoa is an exclamation predominantly used to command pack and draft animals to stop, and is most commonly applied to horses

Woah: an interjection. Alternative spelling of whoa.

Therefore, we are both right. However, I’m not a horse, so I take offense to you saying whoa to me.

You’re probably passed out drunk at this point of the night, so don’t worry about responding (don’t worry, in the blog, I’ll explain that you don’t drink…like at all. Wait, I just did. Sweet!). She really doesn’t drink…my mom is NOT an alcoholic. Chocoholic, maybe. Alcoholic, no.

Megan

–end e-mail chain–

Hopefully that explained a little bit more about why I am how I am. Have any funny e-mail chains? Want me to post them? E-mail me or comment below.

6 thoughts on “This explains a lot about me

  1. Therese Kuster says:

    I wish I could like this more than 5 stars. I lol’ed in class. People stared (but don’t worry because I didn’t mind).

    Suggestion for next blog: address the many uses of “lol.” Including how to properly denote lol in the past tense. Also, why people use lol so often, even though we know they didn’t actually lol. (Hint: Computer Mediated Communication and Social Information Processing Theory by Joe Walther. Can you tell I’ve been studying for my Comm. Theories test?)

Leave a Reply

