Warshington Dee Cee

Last weekend I flew out to Washington, D.C. with Jessie and my mom to speak at the PRSSA National Conference. It was a blast, and I’m going to tell you all about it.

Capitol

Not from Google Images. Jessie took this.

We flew out Saturday evening after a fun and exhausting Cedar Valley Chase. The plane ride was fine, nothing exciting.

We got to our hotel in D.C. at 11 p.m. on Saturday. Obviously we went out and partied like rock stars. And by party like rock stars, I mean we went to bed because we were exhausted.

I got up at the crack o’ dawn on Sunday to present at the Student-Run Firm Panel at the PRSSA National Conference. Therese Kuster, my good buddy from UNI PRSSA, organized and moderated the panel. The other panelists were “Pritch” from the University of Oklahoma and Jeff DuBois of Brigham Young University.

The panel was awesome. I’ve always enjoyed speaking in front of people (strange, I know), and it was nice to revisit my days as PRide president. It sounds self-centered, but it feels good to have people wanting to learn from you.

I met a lot of current and aspiring firm directors after the session. I helped them with problems, gave them suggestions and answered their student-run-firm-related questions. It was awesome and I’d do it again in a heartbeat.

After the PRSSA session, Jess, Mom and I headed to the Woodley Park Zoo, about a half mile away from our hotel. We spent 5 or 6 hours there, walking around, seeing the animals, eating ice cream.

Monkeys

These monkeys were in love. They were picking bugs off each other and being all cute.

Megan's Favorite Monkey

These were my favorite monkeys. I can't actually remember what they're called, but they're adorable. They're quick and scrappy and so funny looking that you can't help but go "awww"

At the zoo we got to see my Aunt Joan, who lives in Maryland (not “we got to see her” as in she was one of the exhibits, but “we got to see her” as in she met us there). That was great! But (sorry Joan), the best part of the zoo was when we were eating ice cream and Jessie said, “I’m enjoying this ice cream way too much to care about your boobs.” Maybe you had to be there, but my mom, my aunt and I almost choked on our ice cream (if that’s even possible).

We stayed out and about to get dinner, which was quite an adventure. We knew we wanted Italian, but we weren’t sure which restaurant. Jessie used his fancy cellular device to look up restaurants and their locations. We ended up walking a mile uphill to a fancy Italian place and eating there in jeans and t-shirts. We were a little out of place, and we probably didn’t do the best job of representing Iowans.

Again, we partied like rock stars that night. I napped from 8-9 p.m. then went to bed. Adventurous, I know.

Monday we knew we wanted to go to the D.C. Mall with all the museums and monuments. We only had 4 or 5 hours, but we made the most of it. We did an abridged tour of the Museum of Natural History (pics below), and we zoomed through the Air and Space Museum. We also saw the Washington monument and the Capitol from a distance.

Jewelry

This is what Jessie's getting me for Christmas

Megan being attacked by bear

I got attacked by a stuffed bear.

Piranha

And also a piranha (at the zoo)

After the mall, we got our luggage and headed back to the airport. We flew home and were exhausted when we got back. It was a fun trip, and I think I’ve officially caught the travel bug (not like malaria or anything. I’m just stating that I like to travel now). It was another great trip, and I’m glad I went. I had a lot of fun experiences, along with some new experiences.

A few firsts from this trip:

  • First time in D.C.
  • First time sharing a hotel room with my mom and my boyfriend.
  • First time going to a fancy Italian restaurant in jeans.
  • First taxi ride – All I have to say is wow. (Obviously that’s not all I have to say. It’s a figure of speech. A terrible one.) Our taxi driver certainly got us to the hotel in a timely manner! I got more motion sick on the taxi ride than on the plane (I didn’t actually get motion sick). It was night, so there wasn’t too much traffic, but our driver was swerving, dodging, accelerating and Tokyo drifting (that video might actually be of our taxi ride).
  • First time on a subway – The D.C. subway system is really easy to figure out. It’s quick, it’s easy and it gets you where you need to go. I’m still not very good at standing up while it’s moving, but at least I didn’t barf.
  • First time at PRSSA National Conference.
  • First time speaking on a national panel.

Not too shabby for one weekend!

If you want to see more pics, check my Facebook or Jessie’s Facebook.

4 thoughts on “Warshington Dee Cee

  1. Joan says:

    Great job as always! It was fun re-living some of those things. Jessie’s boob comment and your response to it were hilarious, and that scene has actually popped into my head a few times since it happened!

    Keep up the good work. I’m very proud of you.

    Love,
    Aunt Joan

Leave a Reply

