Flashback: One Wicked Awesome Weekend

I posted this blog on my old Megan’s Meanderings blog, but I’m transferring it over because it was an experience I want to remember. (It’s not as if I need a blog post to remember the amazing weekend, but it’s nice to go back and relive it every once in a while.)

—-

For my birthday, Jessie got me tickets to Wicked in Minneapolis. For those of you who don’t know what Wicked is, get educated. It’s basically the Wizard of Oz from the perspective of the witches. And, bonus, it’s a musical!

I took Friday off work and Jess and I got up bright an early (9 ish) and started our journey to Minneapolis. I-35 served as our yellow brick road, and we headed on our way.

We started the day at the Mall of America (MOA)—the epicenter of people watching. We spent four or five hours there—looking, trying stuff on, people watching. We ate delicious Sbarro’s pizza for lunch, and in an unrelated note, I totally got to mess around with an Ipad.

I’m not much into the “spending money on myself” thing. But I did get me some new jeans and a new tank top. Jess got jeans, shoes (he forgot his…his dress shoes, not his regular shoes. I don’t think he’d be allowed in the MOA without shoes. I’ll confirm with some primary research), and a blu-ray. I also bought him some super nerdy book—The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien.

We ended our MOA adventure after we each had had enough shopping. We headed to our hotel (the Westin) to find some grub (food) and get ready for the show. The hotel was super duper nice. I definitely fit in wearing my jean shorts and subway t-shirt.

We checked in, put our stuff in our room and headed on an adventure to find food. We tried an Italian place, but apparently they didn’t have any hot food…not gonna fly. We tried another supposedly Italian place (I like Italian), but they didn’t have pasta (what the hell kind of Italian restaurant doesn’t have pasta). So we decided to go super fancy and headed to Applebees.

Applebees was delicious, as usual. After we ate we walked back to the hotel and got ready. Jess put on his spiffy dress clothes (including a tie), and I donned a super chic dress…which I rocked…and heels.

Megan's Meanderings

We headed out on the town with our sexy selves and walked the 3-ish blocks to the theatre (the Orpheum). There was a long line of people waiting to get in, so we pushed our way to the front (by “pushed our way to the front,” I mean we waited courteously in line).

The theatre was in the same neighborhood as some hoppin’ clubs. It was also across from The Saloon, a local homosexual establishment. Well, at least we thought it was a gay bar based on their ad…we could be wrong.

Megan's Meanderings Megan's Meanderings

We made our way into the theatre. They were selling programs for 20 bucks a pop. Rip off! Everyone gets a playbill. They also had witch-themed drinks…one shot worth for $7. Psshh I coulda snuck in my own booze!

Anyway, the usher pointed us toward our seats and thanked us for dressing up. We were confused as to why she was thanking us. Doesn’t everyone dress up to come to a musical? No. No they do not. There were people there in jeans, and one lady even rocked a Green Bay Packers t-shirt (I used the term “rocked” satirically…she was in no way rocking that t-shirt).

Jess and I like to document our adventures, so he tried taking pictures of the stage and the theatre. We found out that is NOT COOL. An overly serious usher jumped in front of him and shouted, “Delete those pictures, sir! Now!” Jess deleted the pictures and we got on our way watching the show. See the artists rendering for a relatively close idea of what the stage and theatre looked like.

Megan's Meanderings

The show was AMAZING. I don’t even have words for it. I loved it. The actors/singers were extremely good, and well, again, I loved it. I never realized how truly creative the storyline is (if you want to know but don’t like musical…or don’t want to go…read Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West).

Going to the show made me again realize my dream of being on Broadway. Too bad I can’t sing.

After the show, we shuffled out with the rest of the audience. We strutted back to our hotel (I can say strutted because I was wearing my dress and heels like a rock star). We decided to have a drink at the hotel…just cuz we could.

I wanted to try something I had never tried before (which is stupid for someone with the alcohol tolerance of an ant), so I ordered a cosmo. Well this cosmo was 99% vodka, .5% triple sec, and .5% fruitiness. It was like sipping vodka. Needless to say, I could only have about 2 ounces of it. I got nauseous and had to leave the bar in a hurry. I didn’t actually get sick, but I might as well have. No more cosmos for me…ever.

Megan's Meanderings Cosmo

So like a champ, I went up to the hotel room, showered and went to bed. The next morning we woke up and headed on our way out of the big city.

It was a wicked awesome weekend, and I’ll remember it forever. If I wasn’t obsessed with Wicked before, I am now. It was the best birthday present ever, even though there were a few hiccups (and dry heaves) along the way.

Leave a Reply

