I was sick, but I still ate my weight in Superb Owl food.

A few points to make before I jump into this post. 1) I have a cold. My head is filled with mucussy goodness (sorry, TMI) and I’m medicated, so don’t judge anything I say in this post. 2) The title is not a typo–I will be referring to the Super Bowl as the Superb Owl so I don’t have to pay the NFL fees.

The Superb Owl was yesterday, I’m not sure if you knew that. Not many people do. I went down and watched the event at my parents’ house. The whole family was there (minus James…he’s in the Army) and everyone made and brought delicious food. We had:

  • Sour cream rolls (the ones where you mix a lot of ingredients, spread them on tortillas, roll them and cut them)
  • Pulled pork sandwiches
  • Cupcakes
  • Buffalo chicken cheese dip
  • Teriyaki wings
  • Chips
  • And a lot of random foods

I ate my weight in these foods over the course of seven hours. No regrets.

As is tradition, I watched the pre-game show, the game, the commercials and the post-game episode of GLEE. My favorite part? The commercials, of course. I wanted to spend this blog reviewing all the commercials–sharing my favorites and my least favorites. But honestly, I’m sick and kind of just want to sleep. So I’ll save that for a later blog.

I will say that Doritos took the cake…again. I always love their Superb Owl commercials. Bud Light failed to impress. And Randy Kuehl Auto wasted thousands of dollars of playing a flashing PowerPoint slide. Seriously….they literally had a static ad–no sounds, just flashing text. They placed it multiple times. What a waste!

Those are my quick reviews. I’ll review more commercials in a coming post (or posts) but for now, I need to sleep.

2 thoughts on “I was sick, but I still ate my weight in Superb Owl food.

  1. Joan says:

    I’m glad you had a good Superb Owl day! I agree with your lack of enthusiasm about the Bud Light commercials. I’m sorry you aren’t feeling well, and sure hope you are all better real soon. It stinks to be sick.
    Love,
    Aunt Joan

Leave a Reply

