If you’re going to read off your notes during a presentation, I’m not going to listen

I’ll apologize in advance on this post. It’s not going to have the general Megan-like humorous tone. Sometimes, you just gotta put down the funny bone and get on your soapbox.

Background
I’m a senior in college (graduation in t-3 ish months? I don’t know, I don’t have time to keep track), so I’m in upper-level business strategy classes.

Two of my three classes require a lot of group work and a few presentations (exciting, I know).

Warning: Now on Soapbox

In one of my classes, we’ve had three group presentations already this semester. There are six groups and each presents three times. Using my outstanding math skills, I’m able to calculate that there will be 18 total presentations. Hold your applause.

One group did really well presenting. They used an extemporaneous style and seemed confident. Listening to the other two groups (okay, one whole group and half of another group) was like listening to nails on a chalkboard.

People in each group read directly from their notes. Read. They read their presentation. Am I getting through to you? They literally read off their notes and called that a presentation.

Now, I don’t think I’m the bee’s knees (whatever the hell that means), but when it comes to presenting, I like to think I’m alright. I’m confident, I’m upbeat and I have a remarkably extemporaneous style. Maybe it’s because I’m naturally comfortable in front of people, I don’t know.

I know some people aren’t all that comfortable with public speaking, but the fact that at least 8 people (so far) in my senior-level business class READ their presentation makes me sad. These people are going out to the “real world” in 3 months, yet they can’t give a presentation.

I’ll hop off my soapbox now and accept the fact that some people have a hard time presenting. But for my sake (and potentially yours), I hope no more groups read their presentations directly off their note cards.

Leave a Reply

