I’ve officially killed more cars than people

I’m not saying I’ve killed any people (I haven’t to my knowledge), but I’ve definitely killed cars. This is my car killing story.

On Monday, I was heading to an orthodontist appointment. Driving, like usual. Cruising along with my music on a normal level and not texting.

I approached the University Ave/Main Street intersection (for those of you from far away, I’m not going to describe it. You can pretty much imagine any intersection in the world and use it as a substitute in your mind). As I did, I didn’t notice anything out of the ordinary.

There was a car in front of me and as I rolled up to the intersection, I saw my life flash before my eyes. And by my life, I mean a pothole. I saw a pothole flash before my eyes. Before I could react to the black-hole-sized divot in the road, I hit it. And I hit it good. I mean if there was a competition for hitting a pothole perfectly, I would win.

So I hit the pothole, hear a crack, and make it about a tenth of a mile before I decide I should pull over. I got to the nearest shoulder area and parked my car. I smelled burning rubber and my car was making noises, so I knew something was off. I got out and looked, AND MY CAR EXPLODED. Ha, no. That would have made the story way better, though.

I did get out and look, and my front driver’s side tire was basically touching the car–rubbing against it. That explains why I smelled rubber. Other than that, nothing visible wrong–no flat tire, no tumorous growths.

I knew I couldn’t drive anywhere, so I, like the independent person I am, called my mother. (She was going to the appointment with me, so I had to call her to let her know I couldn’t get there.) So my mom heads to pick me up, and I call AAA. I also did the responsible thing by telling the orthodontist I wouldn’t be making it…had to reschedule.

Sidenote: What did people do before cell phones? I was able to call everyone I had to using it, so what did people do without them? I’m going to assume they starved to death on the side of the road.

Anywho, back to the story…which is basically over.

After about half an hour, the tow truck came. They towed me to my usual car repair folks, and I went home with my mother. Luckily, my parents have more cars than people in the household, so I was able to borrow their extra car. Yup, they have an extra vehicle.

Their extra vehicle is an SUV. I’m too little to drive an SUV. It looks weird. Plus, I’m too short to scrape the windshield so cold mornings are tough.

I should get my car back this week. I bet it’ll drive better than before!

A picture of the suspect. In total it’s about two feet wide and six inches deep. When I checked the next day, it was filled.

Megan's Meanderings Pothole

Remember how I said I’ve killed carS? Well, I’ll let you in on that little nugget of my life in one of my next posts.

3 thoughts on “I’ve officially killed more cars than people

  1. Joan says:

    Ouch! Yes, thank goodness for cell phones…and that your folks have an extra vehicle (I’m sure you look cute in it : ) )…and that everything worked out to get you home safely. I hope you get your car back soon.

    Love,
    Aunt Joan

Leave a Reply

