Graduation is a Family Affiar

I know, I know. I promised you a Chicago update. I’ll get to it. But first, I want to share with you some exciting information about my graduation.

I’m (finally) graduating on May 7. For a lot of graduates, graduation is a family affair. But for my family, that’s literally the case.

I’m graduating with my bachelor’s degree (yay!), my sister is graduating with her master’s degree and my dad is graduating with his doctorate. All in May. All from UNI. Pretty awesome, right!? Well, I’m excited.

The way UNI had the ceremonies set up, it would have been my dad graduating Friday night, my sister graduating Saturday morning and me graduating Saturday afternoon. That would have been awesome! Each of us with our own ceremony. But UNI had to go changing things. Apparently something “important” came up. Whatever.

So now we are all graduating in the same ceremony. Which is cool in itself. It will also save my grandparents a lot of hassle. Their bums will be num after the long ceremony (1,900 students!), but it’s better than sitting through three separate ceremonies.

This year’s graduation will be a momentous occasion for the Horn family. We’re taking over UNI and there’s nothing they can do to stop us.

Oh yea, and Michelle Obama is speaking at commencement.

12 thoughts on “Graduation is a Family Affiar

      • Yea she does. I thought she was buying them for the whole family, but apparently not! And I haven’t even had a chance to play with it…I’ll let her load her games first.

      • Joan says:

        Nice. So I guess I shouldn’t plan on getting one for Christmas, either, huh?

        Have fun playing with your mom’s. You may have to wait QUITE a while. You know how she loves those games! (Me, too, but don’t tell anyone :D )

  1. Mom says:

    Uh hum. The iPad is for work . . . Okay, I might have some games on it too : ) good luck trying to pry it from my hands. I have to “work” you know.

Leave a Reply

