We took Chicago by storm…two weeks ago.

It only took me two weeks to finally write about Jessie and my trip to Chicago.

We went there over spring break a few weeks ago to get away from the hustle and bustle of Cedar Falls. It was a much needed mental break from work, school and life.

We got there on a Wednesday and didn’t really do anything. After a five-hour drive (which I slept through), who wants to do anything? We did go out to eat somewhere (I can’t remember where) and walked around downtown aimlessly. We did get upgraded to a king suite instead of a regular full-size room. Sweet! That basically meant we got a bigger bed, plus a fridge and microwave.

We decided to do the City Pass dealio (thanks to Shannon Erb for the tip), which got us VIP access (ha, not) to five tourist destinations in Chicago at a discount. Another big advantage: speed. We got to cut in line because we had the passes. Totally worth it.

Thursday we went to the Art Institute and did some other shopping (like at the Apple Store). I, of course, didn’t buy anything because I’m frugal. We walked many, many miles and my legs almost fell off. We were going to go to second city, but we were too tired. We ate at a delicious Italian restaurant and I got three meals worth of food.

Friday we went to the Field Museum and the Shedd Aquarium. When we walked into the aquarium, I realized I had been there before–remember 6th grade, Mom?

Saturday we spent all day at the Science Center. Until this day, we had walked everywhere (EVERYWHERE), but we caught a bus to the center…thankfully because it was like two or three miles away from our hotel! I knew I had been to the science center before (apparently it’s officially known as the Museum of Science and Industry, but I call it the Science Center), but I didn’t remember most of it, and I’m sure a lot changed in the last decade.

Megan's Meanderings Body Worlds

This is a real body. A plasticized body. We got to see dozens of these.

The Science Center had a sweet exhibit called “Body Worlds.” It cost extra, but Jessie really wanted to go to it, so he forked up the money. The exhibit is basically body parts…including full skeletons with muscles and skin sometimes. It was kinda disturbing, but pretty cool. The figures were “plasticized” and you’ll have to Google what that means because I don’t know.

The weather was nice the whole time, until we left on Sunday morning. It rained the whole trip back, but we didn’t mind. Well, I didn’t mind because I was sleeping.

Now we’re back in the real world and I’m back to school, working and of course the ol’ job search.

It was a much needed break and a fun adventure around the city.

7 thoughts on “We took Chicago by storm…two weeks ago.

  1. Mom says:

    I remember the aquarium. Very cool! I think I remember some of the museum. Some prehistoric bird/dinosaur named Sue. Is that the place? I remember really enjoying the field trip.

  2. Joan says:

    Sounds like a great time! Thanks for sharing. I really must put Chicago on my must-see list!
    As for the “Body Worlds” exhibit: I know I couldn’t hack letting a loved one’s cut-open body be on display like that, even though it’s for science, and even though I love knowing about how our bodies are put together. So I haven’t been able to bring myself to go to one of those exhibits. I’m glad you did, though. Uncle Fred saw it a few years back and thought it was awesome, too.
    Good luck with your job search and all your exciting upcoming events!

    Love you,
    Aunt Joan

    • I think most of the people didn’t have family or anything. The exhibit workers said they didn’t know how any of them died or who they were….not sure if that makes it better or worse.

      • Joan says:

        Yeah, Meg, I don’t know if it’s better or worse either. Maybe the workers are purposely kept in the dark on purpose so as not to accidentally reveal an identity and risk a visitor discovering that they know/knew the person or family members. It’s all quite fascinating.

  3. Mom says:

    Hmmm. Maybe I need to send Fred the book I read called “Stiffs”. It’s a book about what cadavers are used for. Kind of creepy and interesting at the same time. Kudos to those who shared their bodies for the exhibit. I hadn’t thought about how hard that might be for the loved ones.

Leave a Reply

