A bat shit on my head…and other Sturgis Falls adventures

This weekend was Sturgis Falls in Cedar Falls. Jess and I got out and enjoyed it as much as possible. We had some fun times…and some weird times.

Friday night we went to Tourist Park to see a classic rock cover band. They call themselves the Monsters of Mock. They covered Bon Jovi, Motley Crue and Poison. The lead singer like to mess with us, as at one point he said, “This is my favorite Poison song,” and started singing Don’t Stop Believing. He was kidding, but that’s not funny. That’s rude.

Friday night was pretty uneventful. Saturday was a different story.

Saturday morning Jess and I volunteered for the Cedar Bend Humane Society, walking dogs in the parade. Jessie specifically requested a small dog for me, but apparently they didn’t get that memo. When we got there, they handed me a 50-pound dog, Shadow, that had been in a kennel all day. Let’s just say it took me for a walk/run.

Megan's Meanderings Shadow

This is Shadow. He's got a lot of energy, but he's very sweet.

After that dog didn’t work out, Jess traded dogs with me. Yet another 50 pounder, Lexi. She was calm when it was with Jessie, but with me, she got really hyper, and I wasn’t strong enough to hold her down. Awesome.

Megan's Meanderings Lexi

This is Lexi. She's too strong for me, but once she was with someone who could control her, she was super sweet. And really good with kids.

Onto dog three. A 60-pound, 100 percent muscle boxer/bull-mastiff–Yates. Again, I couldn’t handle him. We were fine if we were just standing there, but the second we started walking, he’d drag me along. Apparently parades are full of walking, so that dog didn’t work out.

Megan's Meanderings Yates

This is Yates. He's big. And strong. But you should still adopt him. He's super sweet, just a little big/strong for me.

Eventually, they got smart and realized I wouldn’t be able to handle any of the big guys. I mean come on, look at me. I’m tiny. So they gave me a small dog (wish they would have done that in the first place!). His name was Skip. He was adorable and really good with the people in the crowd. According to Jessie, he also had worms. Yay. If you’re looking for a dog, go adopt him–the worms will clear up.

Megan's Meanderings Skip

This is Skip. Adopt him. You can't resist those eyes.

The parade was fun, but trying to wrangle those 50-pound dogs was exhausting. We took a 4-hour nap after the parade. And I’m still sore. NBD.

After our nap, it was time to go out again. We headed to Tourist Park to see Arch Allies, a Journey/Stix/REO Speedwagon tribute band. We had already seen them four times, but another time wouldn’t kill us. We’re fans. As always, they were awesome. But the highlight of the night wasn’t the band.

Right when we got to the park, I felt a big rain drop on my head. I didn’t think much of it and just hoped it wouldn’t start pouring. Jess and I got out wristband, beer tickets and drinks and sat back down to enjoy the show. As the show’s starting, Jess goes, “Megan, you have something in your hair.” Awe, dammit, I though.  It wasn’t a rain drop. I was right. It was bat shit. A bat legitimately shit in my hair. But it was okay because, as Jess said, “It was probably just a bunch of digested bugs.” That made me feel better (ok no).

Like the loving boyfriend he is, Jess cleaned the digested bug bat shit out of my hair. We stayed the whole time to see the band, and my bat shit hair continued to be the joke of the night. I’m okay with that, it made for a good blog post.

Sturgis Falls is always an adventure…just usually not as much as this year. We’ll keep going back, in hopes to eventually get revenge on the a-hole bat that pooped in my hair.

3 thoughts on “A bat shit on my head…and other Sturgis Falls adventures

Leave a Reply

