Lions and Tigers and Bears, Oh My!

Yea, I used the over-used reference to the Wizard of Oz. I don’t care. I couldn’t think of anything better. I write all day; I can’t be expected to write good when I’m off work!

Enough about my copywriting angsts.

This weekend, Jessie and I went to the Omaha Zoo. We got up at the crack of dawn on Saturday and made the 4.5-ish-hour drive down there. We were afraid of access due to flooding, but we made it there just fine.

I’m not sure if you remember, but Saturday was hot. Really hot. Walking around outside was exhausting (and sweaty), but it was awesome to see the zoo and all its creatures.

My favorite part of the zoo was the gorilla gallery (or whatever they called it. I like gorilla gallery). They had 10+ gorillas, including several huge ones and one little baby. They pretty much lazied around all day…except the baby, who played for a while then slept.

Megan's Meanderings Omaha Zoo Gorilla

One of the lazy (giant) gorillas. Just hangin' out in the tree.

Megan's Meanderings Omaha Zoo Gorilla

One of the really big gorillas showing is size.

Megan's Meanderings Omaha Zoo Gorilla

The baby gorilla playing with the zookeeper.

Megan's Meanderings Omaha Zoo Gorilla

The baby gorilla after playing. Too cute!

Alright. Enough of the gorillas. (I have plenty more pictures of them, trust me. You can see them here.)

The other memorable moment of the day was the jungle exhibit. Remember how I have a bad past experience with a bat? Well, there were dozens of bats flying loose in this exhibit. Gross! Jess got a little bat pee on him, but I walked away clean. Thank goodness.

Megan's Meanderings Omaha Zoo Bat

One of the icky bats. See how big these frickin' things are!? They were flying all around me. Pretty sure one touched me.

Here’s a video of these suckers flying around us. It’s tiny because I shot it on my camera. You should be able to see it okay if you make it full screen mode.


Those (along with going to Carrabba’s and eating our weight in Italian food) were the most memorable parts of our journey.  Those, and the fact that I only got sun on my shoulders so I have a really weird tan. If you haven’t been to the Omaha Zoo, I highly recommend it. But if you don’t like bats, avoid the jungle exhibit.

2 thoughts on “Lions and Tigers and Bears, Oh My!

  1. Great post Megan! My wife and I love zoos and have not been to the one in Omaha yet! My grandson went with his parents a couple of weeks ago and all he could talk about were the gorillas!

Leave a Reply

